Skip to content

New Addition to the Family

May 30, 2011

Meet Charlotte’s new baby – a custom Falstaff model made by Roger Bucknall of Fylde Guitars. Only 3 weeks old and already sounding incredible!

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Nick Hoar permalink
    June 1, 2011 7:29 pm

    Beautiful guitar, excellent guitarist, all the very best Charlotte!

  2. June 2, 2011 1:46 pm

    This is beautiful! You`re a fantastic flatpicker. I`m working on trying to play solo stuff like this, inspired by Norman Blake, David Grier, Clarence, Tony Rice etc. Now inspired by you too! What is the tune/tuning? Is it your own composition? PS I think I love you!

    Dave from High Lonesome North Downs ( Surrey ) x

    • thecarrivicksisters permalink*
      June 14, 2011 2:05 pm

      Hello Dave. It’s in standard (ebgdae) tuning capo 2nd fret although I forgot to put the capo on when we filmed it. Yes, it’s my first attempt at writing a guitar tune – glad you like it!

  3. Michael Cameron permalink
    June 2, 2011 8:06 pm

    Charlotte,
    I truly enjoyed “Making Horses” on your great sounding Fylde guitar!
    Thank you!

    Mike Cameron
    Eatonton,Georgia

  4. July 10, 2011 1:35 am

    is there a tab for this somewhere it sounds amazing

    • thecarrivicksisters permalink*
      August 4, 2011 11:32 am

      Thanks! Yes, I’ll send it to you.

  5. Dave Barlow permalink
    August 4, 2011 9:51 am

    Hi Charlotte. Thanks for the reply. So you really prefer your Fylde to trad Martins? I have a D28 which has a big beautiful sound but I feel I will have to play it hard for a long time to “make it mine”. I am wondering whether to trade it in for a handmade guitar. There`s a guy round here http://www.alanarnoldguitars.co.uk/ who makes lovely guitars. Good luck with the new album. Lots of good reviews. I`d better order it!

  6. thecarrivicksisters permalink*
    August 4, 2011 11:30 am

    Ooh, they look nice! Yes, I do prefer it. A Martin Dreadnought is great if you’re a bluegrass player and want an off the shelf guitar that will do the job really well. If you were to buy a standard Fylde Fastaff it would be great but they’re not really built for it. Mine, however, is built specifically for bluegrass and completely outclasses every other guitar I’ve come across since (better tone, easier to play, and a lot more guts… plus it looks pretty :D). So, if you want the perfect guitar, speak to Roger Bucknall at Fylde… I’m convinced he can make any guitar exactly how you want it if you can describe it well enough. But in the end, it’s all personal preference really 🙂

  7. Dave Barlow permalink
    August 4, 2011 2:58 pm

    Hmm. I`d better start saving then. Yours does sound very good. But then, its all about the player. I`m sure you could make any guitar sound good! I`ve got an old (very old) Aria that I`ve played and played over the years and its got better and better as it`s aged. I like fingerpicking too. I`ve read about different guitars for different styles but mine sound ok whatever style I`m playing so I don`t really take much notice of that. Thanks for replying. Don`t suppose you could send me that tab? I initially tried to play it using ear and video, I couldn`t get it ! Video and sound are very well synced ! Keep playing that wonderful music.

Leave a Reply

